Announcement

Collapse

Donations Desperately Needed (UPDATED 02/25/2020)

Thank you to those who donated! I received enough to cover my internet bill and to put a little bit towards next month's server bill
See more
See less

Title Pending

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Incomplete] Title Pending

This is my first attempt at writing a story in well over a decade. While I hope you are kind, I know I could also use some help.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 1

"We are Fayd. We request permission for contact."

That was the entire content of the bizarre email which had somehow managed to slip by Jasmine's spam filter to join the slew of donation requests, petitions, and other social justice milieu that formed the bulk of her inbox. Her usual morning routine had her snugly ensconced in bed surrounded by favorite stuffed animals and scanning through her emails on her phone to see if any actually demanded attention while pretending that a second alarm wasn't going to go off in half an hour or so to demand she get out of bed and start getting ready for work. Typically, she would press any "sign with a click" petitions that seemed reasonable, open any articles that seemed interesting in a browser tab, and mark everything else for deletion.

This, however, was so weird as to give her pause. There were no attachments or images in the email to hide a virus in. If it was a fishing attempt, it was by far the strangest she had ever seen; what was it even asking? Permission for contact? As if the email itself were not contact.